our impact

From the eastern Andes mountains to the lowland Amazon rainforest, Andes Amazon Fund (AAF) protects the most biodiverse ecosystems on our planet. This part of the world harbors the greatest concentration of plants and animals on Earth, is the home of millions of indigenous people, and contains an estimated 20% of the world’s freshwater. But today, this region also faces a tremendous number of threats caused by climate change, deforestation, and other forms of unsustainable development.

Since 2015, AAF has helped establish 48 protected areas and title 12 indigenous lands. The total amount of land conserved is equal to 19,400,271 acres (7,851,011 hectares). 

Areas created with AAF support: 

AAF takes a comprehensive approach to ensure the protection of the Andean Amazon. Not only do we increase the capacity of civil society organizations, local and national governments, and indigenous peoples, but we also support efforts to ensure the long-term sustainability of existing protected areas.

Since we first began in 2015, we have supported the conservation of over 15 million acres of land and are on track to protect an additional 4 million acres this year. In only four years, we have almost doubled our initial commitment of creating 10 million acres of protected areas by 2021. This would not have been possible without the work of our grantee organizations in collaboration with local partners and governments, and the support of our donors— the Wyss Foundation, blue moon fund, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and the Bobolink Foundation.

Photos by Diego Perez, Walter Wust, Alvaro del Campo, Michell León, Enrique Ortiz, and Haley Wiebel